top of page

To Happy Places...In 2020

This article is courtesy our guest writer, Maitreyi Devi!


It’s 7:30 PM and I still haven’t showered. You know how you try squeezing out the absolute last bits of toothpaste and nothing comes out? That’s how hard my brain is trying to squeeze ideas out, but - nada. I have taken the decision to lie down, close my eyes and try running away. Okay fine no, but I’m already on a beach, staring at the sunset.


That’s my happy place.


Most people who know me know my obsessions with the sky and the sea. This year isn’t ending and it has honestly messed with our heads to a point where nothing makes sense most of the time. But it’s moments like these where happy places become a good place to travel to; it may not magically solve all issues LOL, but it genuinely does help in escaping to where you feel safe and comfortable.



A happy place, or what I like to call - a braincation, is a small but extremely powerful image in an individual’s head - a memory or even a young Hugh Grant knocking on your door! It can be anything really, as long as it makes you feel like staying and taking a deep breath.



Our brains are extremely powerful and thoughts fuel it. A broke, figuring-it-out 21 year old like myself needs a coping mechanism that is 1. free 2. helpful 3. healthy and most importantly available anytime - at 7:30 PM or 12 AM.


It’s like any exercise really, like deep breathing or listening to music or even dancing.

Everyone is different and different things work for different people - this works for me because I quickly tune into my happy place and tell myself it’s okay; I will see another sunset or maybe in your case, visit a bucket list café and have a warm cup of coffee on a cold evening.



If you’d like to try it, here’s how it works-


  1. Sit or lie down.

  2. Close your eyes or stare at the ceiling - whatever works for you.

  3. Now, think about a favourite place or a person you want to hug - any place you want to be at the moment - anywhere, no boundaries, no logic.

  4. Think about that moment- what’s happening around you? What do you smell? What do you see? Do you feel like staying?

  5. Let your happy place engulf you as long as you want it to.


After your braincation, coming back may be difficult. But the task that lies ahead or what had been bothering you may become solvable. At least you know it isn’t impossible or that there is a bigger picture ahead?


It’s easier said than done but what makes it doable is, that it is your space, it is unique to you. It isn’t generic, common for all - which makes it special and again, safe and comfortable.



Let us know what your happy place is?


We're also accepting guest writers. If you would like to be featured on our website, Contact Us and also make sure you're following us on Facebook and Instagram!


59 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page